From the Town of Bedrock…

Earlier this month I took my semi-annual pilgrimage to The Lumber Shack, (no affiliation) in Central Iowa, to pick up some slabs for yet-to-be designed projects. If you go, bring a truck. I have no truck, but I do have a station wagon (the true mark of adulthood). And even if you don’t build furniture, just seeing the wood in its most basic form short of actually being a tree, is a real wonder.

They harvest primarily urban trees and specialize in Black Walnut but carry quite a few other species, i.e. Elm, Box Elder, Ash, Hackberry, Maple, & Pine. The focus is slab wood although they also carry pen and gun blanks as well as wood for turning and taxidermy mounts. It’s all kiln dried on site and if you ever get the chance to visit, by all means do. The barn where they store the majority of stock is a treat to wander around in and daydream.

The “Y” shaped piece reminded me of the Flintstones.

I’d like to try my hand at some formal benches/settles and the two tall pieces might very well be destined for that. I need to find someone who turns spindles. I have no lathe and in truth, I would rather leave that up to someone who knows what they’re doing instead of trying to do it all myself.

What are your projects for the weekend?

