Taughannock (Coffee Table)

I’ve just about wrapped up the new commission I’ve been working on the past couple of months. Only a few more finishing coats and it will be ready for delivery this week.

The design is something that’s been in the works for a while-I think I came up with it this past May just fooling around in the shop, trying to build some scale models for some new possible pieces.

I don’t remember where I first saw it-but there was a piece online that utilized the continuation of the grain from a slab piece, called a waterfall effect. Nothing revolutionary but it really caught my eye. So, after thinking about it for a while, I came up with the above model.  The Walnut didn’t have a live edge, which I’ve been incorporating, so I just kept it uniform on both sides and integrated something of a cantilevered end, which has the effect of being a tripod which helps with stability.

I wanted to try it on a larger piece (a coffee table in this case) and since the particular slab I was going to use had the bark on it, I decided to keep one of the live edges. I think that ultimately, as I begin building more pieces utilizing this particular design, I’ll only use the live edge if the client requests it-otherwise, I’m partial to the clean lines created by making it uniform on both sides.

Here’s the almost finished product (drying in the back yard while I create more sawdust in the shop.

And here’s a few extra shop-shots to fill out the details. The leg on this one is QS White Oak and the splines are QS Sycamore. (all harvested in Iowa)

So there it is-the Taughannock Table. I look forward to sizing it up to a desk for the next job.

One thought on “Taughannock (Coffee Table)

Comments are closed.