Japanese Tool Box (smaller version)

After putting together a large version of a traditional Japanese style toolbox, courtesy of plans by Toshio Odate, I thought it might be nice to make a smaller version, one I could use as a possible toolbox to carry in my vehicle.

I had some spalted, quartersawn sycamore and cherry pieces left over and here is the result. I chose to use decorative, cut nails to assemble it and chamfered the exterior edges. I will also add some feet to it, to keep the bottom nails from digging in to any surface they might be sitting on.IMG_2177 IMG_2307 IMG_2313 IMG_2309 IMG_2311 IMG_2310

4 thoughts on “Japanese Tool Box (smaller version)

    • Hi Greg, thanks for following along. The rough dimensions are as follows with all the wood being about 1″ thick:

      L x W

      Top – 16 7/8″ x 5 1/8″
      Sides – 21 1/2″ x 5 1/2″
      Bottom – 21 1/2″ x 7″
      Ends – 5″ x 5 1/2″

      The sides sit on top of the bottom piece, the ends are then set in, and the top is sized to fit. The ends are inset about 3/4″ to provide a handhold. In a sense the box builds itself in that once you have the sides, bottom and ends in place, you size everything to that basic frame. For a nice detailed build check out the following post on Giant Cypress.

      As for the finish I took the finest shaving with my #4 bevel-up smoothing plane and then grabbed a handful of the shavings and hand rubbed them to burnish the wood.

      Hope this helps!

    • Hi Gordon, thx for looking. The images I posted were a little weak (I’ll try to get some more flattering ones up soon).
      -Bobby

Comments are closed.