Asa-no-ha

A break from the shoji project was in order-here is my first attempt at the asa-no-ha pattern, aka the hemp leaf pattern.

IMG_2798 IMG_2803 IMG_2805 IMG_2808 IMG_2810 IMG_2811 IMG_2815 IMG_2820

 

I definitely had a few gaps-this is my first time shaving 22.5, 67.5, and 45 degree angles in very tiny pieces of wood. I fear I got a case of the kumiko thumb…but as I practice and make more of these (read Christmas presents) I should improve my accuracy. Coming up with a consistent work flow helps to standardized the pieces. I really enjoyed working on this-it creates a rather unique piece-one with room to improve. And I plan on repeating this pattern for quite a while before moving on to anything more complex out of Des King’s shoji books.

The frame is from a scrap of bird’s eye maple I picked up for $1.00 on a road trip to Wisconsin a few weeks back on a visit to Edward Wohl’s woodworking shop. That gentleman makes some incredible furniture. But that’s another story.

